This castle, situated on a cliff overlooking the lake, is a unique wonder. Its origins are probably date back to the Lombards, in the middle of the first millennium AD, but it was destroyed by the Franks in 590, who rebuilt by them and in 806 the castle housed King Pepin, who came to Malcesine to visit Saints Benigno and Caro. After the Hungarian invasion, it became part of the feudal bishop-state of Verona until 1277 when it fell under the dominion of Alberto della Scala, who remained in the dwelling until 1387. Renewals and additions from this period gave rise to the present name "Scaliger Castle".
Today it houses the Museum of Natural History and it is divided into two sections: the Garda and Baldo.